Regents Award for Faculty Excellence

A. Purpose

The Regents Awards for Faculty Excellence serve as the means by which the Board of Regents acknowledges and honors university faculty members. The number to be awarded shall be determined annually by the Board of Regents.

B. Criteria

1. Eligible individuals must be tenured, have been at UNI at least five years, and be nonadministrators at the time of consideration. Eligibility also includes individuals who are employed at least half-time, those on leave of absence during consideration, or individuals who are in their final year of employment prior to retirement. An individual may receive the Regents Award for Faculty Excellence only once; however, recipients are not precluded from consideration for other university awards.

2. Award recipients shall be individuals who have been deemed to have a sustained record of excellence across the spectrum of faculty endeavors (teaching, scholarship, and service) or such outstanding accomplishments in one or more of the areas as to justify their selection.

C. Composition of the Awards Committee

1. The Regents Awards Committee shall consist of the following members:

a. Representative of the Office of the Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs (non-voting)

b. Collegiate Dean appointed on a rotational basis from the alphabetical listing of the colleges

c. Chair of Council of Department Heads 

d. Member of the Graduate Council

e. Member of the Faculty Senate

f. Chair of the University Faculty

2. The Regents Awards Committee shall be responsible for the solicitation of nominations, the review of submitted materials and the recommendation to the University Senate of faculty members to receive awards.

D. Procedures

1. The Regents Awards Committee shall be convened by the Chair of the Faculty.

2. Recipients of the university awards for outstanding teaching, service and research (Class of 1943 Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching, Ross A. Nielsen Professional Service Award, and James F. Lubker Research Award) from the previous year will automatically be considered for nomination.

3. The Office of the Provost and Executive Vice President shall request nominations from each college senate by November 18. The College Senate Chair will submit the nominee submission form, which will forward the names of the nominees to the Faculty Chair and to the Provost's Office.

4. The Provost's Office shall request the following from each nominee to be sent to the Office of the Provost using the nominee application by February 24. All documents must be in PDF format.

a. Curriculum Vitae

b. Statement of Teaching Philosophy (1 page)

c. A maximum of four representative artifacts (publications, creative works, teaching materials, teaching evaluation summary forms,etc.; we will contact you again should we need more exemplars of your work)

d. Two letters of recommendation describing the nominee’s accomplishments in teaching, scholarship and service (sent directly to

5. After review of the materials, the Regents Awards Committee will identify those individuals to receive awards. The list will be forwarded to the Faculty Senate.

6. The Faculty Senate shall receive and endorse the Awards Committee recommendations and forward the names of the selected candidates to the Executive Vice President and Provost who will notify both the recipients and the Board of Regents.

7. The selected candidates will then be affirmed by the Board of Regents.

8. Names of nominees and recipients of past years will be maintained in the Office of Academic Affairs.