Faculty Handbook Committee

December 13, 2024 | 2:30p-3:30 Maucker Plaza Conference Room

Committee Members:

- Faculty:
 - Fernando Calderón, Melissa Dobosh, Robert Earle, Kenneth Elgersma, Becky Hawbaker, and Christopher Martin
- Administration:
 - Robin Dada, Susan Hill, Amy Nielsen, Scott Peters, and Theresa Westbrock

Approval of Minutes

• Approval of the full minutes from November 11, 2024. Link to Summary Minutes.

Evaluation Calendar Discussion

Review of University Senate, Deans' Council, and Department Heads Feedback

- We must be cautious of interpreting the Department Heads' feedback because their feedback was not an open forum with an opportunity to discuss but rather a review of the proposed calendar and Google questionnaire.
- Deans' feedback focused on whether combining two evaluation letters for one purpose is appropriate, given each letter serves a distinct purpose (i.e., formative versus summative). Deans proposed distinguishing between the summative or P/T evaluation from the formative or annual evaluation and streamlining the yearly evaluation process so that DHs can focus time and energy on the P/T evaluation.
- The University Senate did not provide substantive feedback.
- President Nook was pleased with the emphasis on teaching in the first semester of a new hire.
- Related issues discussed: 1) merit system, 2) validity of materials reviewed for evaluation, and 3) SharePoint concerns.

Next Steps

• Schedule a face-to-face meeting to gather additional feedback from Department Heads.